
So, seeing as this is a sports blog and it is Superbowl Sunday, I figured it is time to make a predicting about who is going to win the Superbowl. It's common sense, like running away if you're being attacked by a grizzly bear, like eating food when you go to a restaurant, or like pulling out your camera-phone if Shaquille O'Neal starts to rap in a nightclub.
As it turns out, picking the Pittsburg Steelers to win the Superbowl is just as intuitive.
I mean, come on, if the Prez is throwin' it up then you have to roll with it, right? Seriosly though, the Steelers are led by a tough-nosed, hardball defense that plays as a unit. They force turnovers, limit scoring opportunities, and will beat the life out of your offense. Granted that the Arizona Cardinals, who are in the Superbowl by virtue of an improbable run, have a high-flying offense, the saying, "Defense wins championships" exists for a reason.
I'm not saying that it's 100% foolproof. Certainly the Indianapolis Colts beating the Chicago Bears a couple of years ago in the Superbowl is a good indication of an offensive team thoroughly outplaying a defensive team.
But Kurt Warner (as much praise as the media has been giving him) is no Peyton Manning and Nathan Vasher is certainly no Troy Polamalu. The Steelers "D" is too strong for the Cardinals inconsistent and young offensive line, and they will dominate the trenches by mixing up blitz packages to confuse the young blockers. Kurt Warner will have less time to sit in the pocket and wait for deep routes to develop from his wide recievers, so even if he gets the ball out, it will be for a relatively short gain.
On the other side of the ball, Pittsburg's offense matches up well with Arizona's defense. Neither unit is outstanding, but I think that the playmakers that Pittsburg has in the form of Willie Parker and Santonio Holmes will overcome the agility of the Cardinals' defense in order to bust some long gains. We all saw what Willie Parker did the last time he was in the Superbowl (for those of you who weren't watching, it was a Superbowl record 72-yard touchdown run) and there is no reason why he can't do it again against a relatively mediocre Cardinals' "D".
So in the end, it's going to be the Steelers: I'm guessing a final score of 23-17. Anyone who wants to mess with me can take it up with my man Barack.
A couple of other predictions: no wardrobe malfunction for Bruce Springsteen (thank God), another really shallow, yet steamy ad from "Go Daddy" (extremely awkward if watching game with parents), and a really awesome episode of "The Office" after the game. Oh, and 3 tons of chips and salsa will be consumed by the population of America by the end of the game.
I hope you all enjoy the game, not only for the excessive consumption and consumerism that it promotes, but also for the unity and oneness that it can create in a time of hardship. That said, let's play some football!