I want to preface this post by saying that I am in no way a Celtics fan (I pledge allegiance to my hometown Warriors), but I simply cannot believe that some people can't believe that the Celtics have jumped to a 2-0 lead on the Lakers in the NBA Finals. Since that sentence was really way too complicated, what I am actually trying to say is: why are people shocked that the Celtics are winning? I say this because I have read at least 5 articles from Yahoo Sports, ESPN, and other reputable sports websites that say that the Celtics are ruining what was supposed to be the Lakers' (and mostly Kobe's) rise to greatness. These articles express a great deal of surprise to the fact that the Lakers are in an 0-2 hole.
But really, could they not see this coming? We are talking about the BOSTON CELTICS here. This is a team that owned the NBA's best regular season record this year. The team that pulled off the biggest (yeah, I said it) blockbuster trade this year that has created the most intimidating starting lineup in basketball. This is a team that houses the Big Three of Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, and Ray Allen, and any one of those guys has the ability to burn a team on any given night. And then they have Leon Powe, who is a straight BOSS. If you don't believe me, tune into his Game 2 performance yesterday:
So, basically what I am trying to say is, why the shock? Why the panic? The Celtics are good and that's a fact, so how can people be shocked that they have jumped to a 2-0 lead? Also, if you're a Celtics fan, don't get too comfortable. Keep in mind that this series is far from over, and the Celtics probably gave the Lakers some hope by letting a 24-point lead melt down to a 4-point lead in a 7-minute span. This, along with the inevitable boost that comes with playing on your homecourt, could propel the Lakers on to a couple of victories as the series shifts to LA.
In the end, I don't really care who wins these Finals. I don't care if it's Kobe getting his 4th ring and Phil Jackson his 10th, or if it's KG, Ray-Ray, Paul, and Doc Rivers getting their first. All I care about is seeing some quality basketball from two really, really quality teams.
P.S. I would just like to thank Norm for the inspiration for this title. You know who you are.
3 comments:
nish is a boss tycoon. you got some good stuff going on here. keep it up.
you should throw some euro 2008 stuff in here if you got the time.
Nish, i love the blog and i cant agree with you more about hte Celtics. They have stars, role players, fans, chemistry, but most of all, they have HEART. Something i personally think the Lakers lack in respect to the Boston Celtics. They are a hard nosed basketball team and i dont think the "flashy" lakers are ready for what Boston is throwing at them. Secondly, you can't just WILLY NILLY use titles from Norm. You need to site them, approve thema and parentheical enclosure them lol.
SLamson
Nish nice start to your summer project... I can't wait to read what you have to say about the US Open
Post a Comment