Wednesday, September 3, 2008

College Football Season Kicks Off with a Bay Area Bang

I know that the NFL has the glamor and the glitz that attracts so many fans nationwide, but College Football has the passion, the guts, and the excitement that no NFL game can ever rival. Where else are you going to find 108,000 screaming fans who literally plan their college-life schedules around football games? The college football experience is unrivaled by any sports experience on the planet and is one thing that should definitely make everyone's bucket list.
That said, the 2008-2009 College Football season started off last Saturday with some blowouts, some defensive struggles, and some high-scoring shootouts. In the midst of this madness, the Bay Area saw its two major teams, the Cal Golden Bears and the Stanford Cardinal, walk off the field with two big home victories. Stanford took down a tough Oregon State team 36-28 by virtue of a late fumble by Oregon State running back Darrell Catchings on Stanford's 1-yard line, which resulted in a touchback for the Cardinal.
Cal's game, although not as thrilling, was every bit as electrifying. The Golden Bears beat a tough Michigan State team 38-31, solidifying the fact that this team is raring to go after a disappointing drop last year from the number 1 ranking all the way to a 7-6 record. Running back Jahvid Best, pictured above, ran for 111 yards, Sophomore Quarterback Kevin Riley threw for two touchdowns, and the Bears' Offense simply outgunned the Spartans' O. The one dull spot for the Bears was former quarterback and current backup Nate Longshore, who looked thoroughly confused out on the field. He threw two knuckle-headed interceptions, including one that was forced into quadruple-coverage. That means that there was four Spartan defenders against one Cal reciever, and Longshore still threw it. That means that Lonshore will not be playing again.
Other than that, here are some of the notable decisions-Michigan lost to Utah, LSU destroyed Appalaichan State, and USC beat a good Virginia team 52-7, catapulting them to the #1 ranking and quieting Trojan-haters.
That's all I have for today, and I will be trying to get back into a regular schedule with the blog, although I don't know how that will work out. Keep checking the Facebook messages. Peace.

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Making Fun of NFL Headlines 7/23/08


So, just to change things up, I am going to do a shorter post today that is going to make fun of some of the latest headlines from the NFL from both Yahoo Sports and ESPN.

Yahoo Sports

Source: Goodell is
watching Favre Situation- Hey, is this the same guy who fined Bill Belichick $500,000 for simply watching some defensive signals? What a hyprocrite?


Hester Skips Bear Camp in Holdout-
In related news, Hester has recently been spotted using his blazing speed to run the hell away from Chicago.


Bears, Top Pick Williams Agree to Deal-
In related news, Williams has recently been spotted using his not-so-blazing speed to run the hell away from Chicago.


Broncos WR Rod Smith to Retire?-
It's about time. This guy is like 500 years old.


Rams DE Wroten Suspended for Season-
He must have done some pretty Wrotten things.


ESPN

Report: NFL Security Visits Vikings on Favre Charge-
In related news, the NFL announces that the use of phrases like "Favre Charge" are a part of a new promotion that has been codenamed "Rhyme Time".

Army Says Campbell Can't Play for Lions- Lions say Campbell can't go to the Army. Touché.

Coughlin Hints Shockey Put Himself Above Team- Coughlin means that Shockey is a narcissistic jerk.

Raiders Tell Jordan to Stay Away from Camp: ESPN now reports that Jordan refused to comply with with team orders and was promptly swallowed alive by the Black Hole.

Monday, July 21, 2008

6 Keys to Fantasy Football Success


I know that there is a lot of time between now and the start of the NFL regular season. I mean come on, the Preseason hasn't even started yet. But I really don't care.

In an effort to provide you with the most up-to-date Fantasy Football news on the planet, I am providing you the secret to my fantasy football success (league champion in at least one league for the past 5 years). I am, for the sake of my readership, divulging the most highly-regarded trade secrets in the world of fantasy football. Don't believe me? Drive over to my house and you will find LaDainian Tomlinson and Adrian Peterson guarding my front door with a pair of AK-47s.

So, without further ado, let's dig in to the six, top-secret secrets that will power you to fantasy football success through your fantasy draft.

1. Don't Be Stupid, Pick a Running Back: I don't care if you have the biggest Tom Brady man-crush of all time. You want a running back in the first round of your fantasy draft. And if you have the 1st or 2nd pick, you want Tomlinson or Peterson. It's as simple as that. Taking a QB is tempting here considering the record-breaking potential of both Tom Brady and Peyton Manning, but potential, at the end of the day, is only potential (49ers fans certainly know that). Do yourself a favor and go with the guarantee in solid numbers: LT or AP.

2. You Must Have a Safety Running Back: I know I just told you that LT and AP are guarantees for good stats this year. That they are. However, there is always the potential for either player to have a bad week against really good defense, or a strong rushing performance but no touchdowns. That's why you need a safety guy. That's why you want someone like Joseph Addai or Jamal Lewis. These are guys who might be the 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th options on offense for their respective teams, yet are still going to rack up the touchdowns as the season progresses. Addai especially is basically a lock for 1 TD a week, which can help you save face when your #1 RB falters. You don't necessarily have to go out and get this guy right away, but make sure that you have one by at least the 4th round of your fantasy draft.

3. The Second Round is Key:
The second round of fantasy drafts is where champions are born and where cellar-dwellers are born as well. However, to succeed in the second round of your fantasy draft, the key is to either read the situation correctly, or make your own destiny. If you know that you will have one of the later picks in the second round, you are going to want to read the situation. Most guys will have taken a running back in the first round, so watch for their next moves. If they take wide recieves, grab a wide reciever. If they take quarterbacks, think about taking a quarterback, but grab a reciever. You just have to remember to be aware of the flow of the draft and not end up with Drew Bennett as your starting reciever and Jon Kitna as your starting quarterback. At the same time, if you are picking early in the second round, attack by picking a quarterback. This is pretty unconventional, but what you will have done is trigger a panic attack for all of the other guys who haven't read this guide. They will start picking quarterbacks like no other, and you will leave yourself at least 1 good wide reciever in the 3rd round to pair with your top-tier QB.

4. Defense Does (Not) Win (Fantasy Football) Championships: It's all about the offense in fantasy football, so don't panic when some idiot takes the Chargers' defense in the 3rd round of your draft. Remain calm, and wait till you are nearing the end of your draft to pick up a defense. Chances are there are going to be some good defenses available, and that's all you really need. Apply the same strategy to kickers, except draft them even later.

5. Tight-End Conundrum: Picking tight-ends is a wacky, imperfect science. If you want to take a shot at Antonio Gates early in the draft, be my guest. It will probably end up benefitting you as your season goes along. However, I am going to wait until the later rounds to pick up a sleeper like Owen Daniels, Ben Watson, or Heath Miller. These are guys who get a lot of looks in the red zone from teams who have smart quarterbacks to find them. Waiting on tight-ends helps you develop some depth at other positions first, like WR and RB.

6. Draft with Your Own Style: What I am about to say may sound highly contradictory, but here goes: draft using your own style. Don't be afraid to buck conventions or try something different (just not too different). Gambles can pay off but they can also backfire, so make wise choices but draft the way you like to draft. So if you want to draft a QB with your first round pick, go ahead. Just don't cry when my team smokes yours in the playoffs.

Do you have your own fantasy football secrets to success? Do you have a different strategy? Do you think I'm an idiot? Hit me up with some comments!

Friday, July 18, 2008

BATMAN!!!!


Sorry, I don't have a real post today because:

a) Today has been one of the more boring days of this summer (sports-wise)

b)I woke up REALLY late (late enough to warrant a lecture from my parentals).

c)BATMAN COMES OUT TODAY!!!!

The movie looks like it's going to be sick-nasty, off-da-hizzle, so everyone go watch it. I've heard from my inside Hollywood sources that Heath Ledger is the scariest clown of all time (seriously, if the picture above doesn't scare you, you are not human). Other than that, The Dark Knight also has Morgan Freeman in it, also known as God, the voice of God, and Narrator. So, if you don't see this movie, not only will Heath Ledger's ghost haunt you, God will not be happy. And that's never a good thing.


Wednesday, July 16, 2008

All-Star Madness

Bud Selig has finally won.
Major League Baseball's much-maligned commissioner has finally come up with a plan that works. While it may not be a major breakthrough, like a steroid testing policy that ACTUALLY works, Bud Selig has done something that no other commissioner can say they have accomplished. He has brought relevance to his league's All Star Game in a way that has changed the showcase for the better.
Think back to the NFL's Pro Bowl or the NBA's All Star Game. Oh wait, you probably don't remember. This is not to say that you have some sort of memory disorder or are "out of the loop", but merely serves to show that neither of these league's star exhibitions are at all significant. No one knows the score of the Pro Bowl, and the only showcase people care about in the NBA is the Dunk Contest. But Bud Selig, by virtue of giving the All Star Game's victorious side home-field advantage in the World Series, has brought value and importance to the game that has only served to make the game better.
I cannot deny that MLB's All Star Game is still somewhat of a mess. This year's game, which was played last night, only serves as an example. The game featured an early exit from A-Rod, 1 inning stints from quality pitchers, several questionable late-game calls from umpires, the longest game in All Star history, and no Tim Lincecum. But people talked about it. People cared about it. And ultimately, people watched it. That has to be a success for any All Star Game.
Plus, the emotions involved in the game were just awesome. You had Giants complimenting Dodgers, Cardinals high-fiving Astros, and, when it was all said and done, Yankees hugging Dodgers (gasp!). The point is, the players were involved and emotionally attached to the game because it had some weight behind it, a tangible pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. This continued even into the late night, and as the game went to extra innings, the tension was visible on the players' faces. AL team manager Terry Francona looked like he was going to cry. Derek Jeter was the first player to leap out of the dugout as his AL squad won on a play at the plate. The stars were there, but more importantly, the stars cared. And in this day and age of multi-million dollar contracts and tabloid news headings, passion, caring, and teamwork is all fans really want to see.
Speaking of passion, no one has more for the game than Josh Hamilton. The man has been to rehab 8 times after being declared the next baseball great, only to emerge this year as a bonafide star. Here is a video recap of his absolute terrorization of the baseball in the first round of the Home Run Derby, in which he hit 28 total homeruns and 3 blasts of more than 500 feet. That's in the first round!

Monday, July 14, 2008

The Brett Favre Saga

I'm sorry, but I can't take it anymore.
You see I truly, honestly, sincerely tried my hardest NOT to write about Brett Favre's latest retirement battle with himself and the Green Bay Packers. I have always believed that this is just Brett Favre's latest shenanigans and that it will all die away when the pigskin starts flying and the hits start landing. But training camp has already started, and Brett refuses to go away.
Here's the deal: I am really sick of Brett Favre. He decides holds a press conference a week after the Packers' last game (a gut-wrenching, OT loss to the would-become Super Bowl Champion New York Giants, in which Favre threw an OT interception). In this press conference, he announces that he doesn't have the heart anymore, that he's not committed to football, blah-blah-blah. He cries, the media writes a whole bunch of sappy Favre stories, and all is good and well. 
Haha, says Favre. Gotcha! Naw man, I was just kiddin' about this here retirement. I'm actually feelin' like playin' some football now! Well guess what Brett, if I'm the GM for the Packers, you've worn out your invitation. We asked you to come back. We asked you to play. But you said no. And now you want back? No thank you, sir. I will kindly take my Aaron Rodgers, Cal grad and apprentice to Favre for the past 3 years, and go to the playoffs without you (you heard it here first). I don't care if you're a Hall of Fame caliber quarterback, bringing you back disrupts our Aaron-specific offensive plan, destroys our current team chemistry, and wrecks the confidence of our future quarterback (Brett's gonna have to retire at some point). Thanks, but no thanks Brett.
But this is where the situation gets complicated. All of a sudden, Favre says, "Release me." Okay, but there are some implications. The Minnesota Vikings and the Chicago Bears, both of whom are in the Packers' division, are one good quarterback away from being playoff quality teams. If you look at the Vikings, they're one good quarterback away from being a Super Bowl quality team. So now what to do, if you're the Packers? Release Favre, trade Favre, or bring him back?
Well here's what I would do: trade him. You are going to get some pretty good value for a Hall of Fame quarterback, so go out and get that value. Another defensive player, a solid running back, or a good wide receiver make the Packers better than the return of Brett Favre does. The best part is, I get to determine where Brett goes, but he still gets his wish to play elsewhere. Win-win situation.
Oh, but the fans are going to revolt, right? Listen, winning now is going to erase winning in the past. Face it, Brett Favre hasn't won a Super Bowl since 1996. If Aaron Rodgers is able to lead the Packers to the playoffs, Packers fans are going to put up "Brett Who?" signs pretty quickly. Niners fans didn't boycott their team when Joe Montana left for the Chiefs because they had Steve Young to take their minds of Montana. Apply that same strategy to this situation, and you have a success. 
That's my take on what the Packers should do. What's yours? Let me know in the comments section, in the poll located on the blog's sidebar, or email me at nbluedevils@yahoo.com.

Friday, July 11, 2008

I Love Ronny Turiaf!!!! (Warriors Update)

Goodbye Baron, hello Corey Maggette and Ronny Turiaf.
In what has been an extremely chaotic week for the NBA, the Golden State Warriors have now signed veteran swingman Maggette from the Los Angeles Clippers. The deal seems to signal what is essentially a trade between the Clippers and Warriors for players Baron Davis (headed to LA) and Maggette (headed to the Bay).
And it seems as if the Warriors are not done yet. They have reportedly signed Los Angeles Laker Ronny Turiaf to an offer sheet, a basic agreement that is the preliminary version of a contract. This gives the Lakers a chance to match the bid from the Warriors, which is a reported $17 million over the next 4 years. However, all sources indicate that the Lakers will NOT match this deal, as they are already about $6 million over the NBA's luxury tax cutoff, meaning they will have to pay even more money for Turiaf.
The Warriors have now stolen players from both LA teams, although the focus still seems to linger around Davis, the one player the Warrriors lost (well they actually lost Mickael Pietrus (Orlando Magic) and Matt Barnes (God-knows-where) as well, but no one cares about them). Baron is now put in quite a sticky situations, as Maggette (the Clippers leading scorer last year) and Elton Brand (the face of the franchise) have both bolted for the Warriors and 76ers, respectively. I feel bad for Baron, but he never should have left the Bay.
On the other hand, GM Chris Mullin has indicated that the Warriors are far from done in the free agent market. The Warriors would like to add a point guard to keep some of the pressure off of Monta Ellis, who it appears will become the new face of the franchise (sans beard, of course). With free agents such as Steve Francis, Kirk Hinrich, and Andre Iguodala potentially hitting the market, the Warriors still have a lot to gain this offseason. Let's hope they make the most of it.
On a side note, I just came back from a week-long journalism workshop at Stanford University. The campus was awesome, the weather was hot, and the advisors were amazing. I have learned a lot and hope to put it into my writing on this blog. Speaking of the blog, things will be returning to a normal schedule, which means you can check in every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for your sports news. Until next time, check out this short video about Ronny Turiaf's story from open-heart surgery to the NBA. The man is literally 100% heart and passion, and I am happy that he will be wearing a Warriors jersey next year.

Friday, July 4, 2008

HAPPY 4th OF JULY

Just wanted to wish everyone a Happy 4th. Eat barbecue, enjoy fireworks, and be patriotic. Other than that, I am sad to say that the Baron Davis era in Oakland is somewhat officially over. Even though it isn't technically over until July 9th, Baron is supposedly already shopping around for a house in LA. Go figure. Anyways, here is a video of Baron's Top 10 moments from the 2007 season, which was the Warriors' and his best season by far. It brings back so many good memories.

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

BREAKING WARRIORS NEWS!!!!!


Baron Davis broke the hearts of Golden State Warriors fans across the Bay Area today, opting out of his contract with the Warriors and reaching an agreement to play for the Los Angeles Clippers for $65 million over 5 years. Why, Baron? Why?
Less than 24 hours after telling coach Don Nelson he was going to stay with the Warriors, Davis decided to do the opposite and is now heading to his hometown Clippers. However, it seems like the tables are turning for the gleefully smug Clippers. Now, it appears that the Warriors have offered current Clipper Elton Brand a max contract to become a Warrior. Eat that, LA's least favorite team.
I don't really want to focus on the Warriors bidding war with the Clippers, but instead future prospects for the Warriors. First of all, Baron Davis still cannot technically sign with the Clippers until July 9, but it seems unlikely that the Warriors will attempt to bring Davis back. This makes them a major player in the free agent market this year, and with stars such as Brand and former Warrior Gilbert Arenas on the market, things could get interesting. In fact, the Warriors, in addition to offering Brand a max contract (WAAAAAY more mula than the Clippers are willing to part with), the Warriors have also offered Gilbert Arenas a contract worth a reported $100 million. Of course, the Wizards have reportedly one-upped the Warriors by offering Arenas a deal worth $120 million, but who knows what will transpire over the next few days.
I think that Arenas would really be a great addition for the Warriors, taking over Baron's spot as the PG. Arenas, although a little more selfish of a player than Davis, is possibly more skilled despite the fact that he is coming off of a major knee surgery. Then again, this ruins Monta Ellis' plan to become the face of the Warriors. Brand, on the other hand, would be an interesting player for the Warriors to acquire. He would provide a much-needed post presence, but doesn't really fit Nellie's small-ball offense. Are the Warriors preparing for the post-Nelson era?
Everything is up in the air right now, so it's impossible to make any conclusions about the future of the Warriors or the rest of the Pacific Division. But I ask you, what should the Warriors do? Are Arenas or Brand the right answer? Should they attempt to win Baron back from the Clippers? Where does Monta Ellis fit in? The Warriors have some decisions to make.
If Baron does indeed leave the Warriors, check back in for a Top 5 Baron Davis moments on Wednesday. Until then, pray for the Warriors to make a good move!

Monday, June 30, 2008

Good Pitching Wins Baseball Games, Right?


We've all heard the cliché sayings that dominate the world of sports. "Defense wins championships", "Drive for show, putt for dough", "A season is a marathon, not a sprint", etc. And if you're familiar with all of these clichés, you have to be familiar with the idea that good pitching always beats good hitting. It makes sense, right? Well, it makes sense if you're not a member of the San Francisco Giants, because they seem to be defying that piece of logic.
Let me start off by saying the Giants are NOT awful. But they aren't great either. Currently in 3rd place in the turrrible NL West, the Giants aren't exactly sitting pretty and are piling up just as many wins as they are losses.
But according to the cliché statement about pitching, these Giants should have one of the better records in baseball. They have the best pitcher in the National League in 24-year-old Tim Lincecum and the National League's best relief pitcher in Brian Wilson. Don't believe me? Lincecum leads the National League in strikeouts and overall winning percentage, while Brian Wilson leads the National League in saves. And it's not just these two, either. 25-year-old Jonathan Sanchez is 5th in the NL for strikeouts and Matt Cain is currently 7th (he will move up after his start tonight). That's three pitchers out of the Top 10 Strikeout leaders in the league. Yet the Giants still hold one of baseball's middle-of-the-road records and have a miniscule, if not microscopic chance of making the playoffs. 
So the question I ask is, what is wrong with the Giants? Even their offense, which everyone claims to be supremely sub-par, is really not that bad. They are, as a team, 5th in the National League in Batting Average, 7th in On Base Percentage, and 6th in Stolen Bases. So really, why can't the Giants win?
I haven't really come up with an answer yet, but I am sure one will become apparent as the season goes on. Meanwhile, if this year isn't the year for the Giants to make the playoffs, we can look forward to some really good baseball from the team in the future. Most of the core players for the Giants are around the 25-year-old range, which means that, as they grow in their levels of experience, these guys are going to be really good. As for now, the Giants need to figure out why they can't win this season. 
Have any possible answers? Write some comments and let me know why you think the Giants are in the position they are currently in.


Friday, June 27, 2008

Warriors Will Be Scary Good, or Scary Bad


So, the NBA Draft is over and the futures for several teams have shifted significantly. But the Warriors look like they aren't straying from the path at all. By drafting LSU Shooting Forward Anthony Randolph, the Warriors are going to keep running on and on and on, and Randolph certainly has the athleticism to keep up. Even though he is 6 feet-10 inches tall with arms that extend 7-5, this semi big man still weighs less than 200 pounds. Less than 200 pounds! I'm pretty sure Nate Robinson of the New York Knicks (listed at a generous 5-10) is heavier than 200 pounds. Randolph is beyond skinny, he's stick-thin. Several experts claim that the Warriors are just going to end up with another Brandan Wright, a player who was obtained by the Warriors last year and looks to crack the starting line-up this year.
However, I beg to differ with these so-called experts. First of all, Randolph is a little bit longer than Wright, which will allow him to match up with some bigger players. Also, with the addition of Randolph, the Warriors are putting themselves in a position to compete even while potentially losing some of their core players. Consider: 9 of the 15 players that the Warriors currently have signed can potentially become free agents this year, including Monta Ellis, Andris Biedrins, Matt Barnes, Mickael Pietrus, and even team captain Baron Davis who has a player option on his contract. Warriors GM Chris Mullin has already said that the Warriors will keep Ellis and Biedrins at all costs, which effectively takes those two out of the free agency picture.
But let's assume that the worst happens to the Warriors: Davis opts out of the final year of his contract and Barnes and Pietrus are gobbled up by other teams in free agency. The way in which the Warriors drafted this year keeps them in the hunt for a space in the Western Conference playoffs, with or without these key, current players. First, Monta Ellis is going to be a fixture in the backcourt as the SG, although he can take over the point if necessary. Furthermore, the Warriors still have Marco Bellinelli (last year's 1st round pick in the draft) who apparently has taken strides in the D-League and has impressed Coach Don Nelson. So there are two options for the backcourt. As for the frontcourt, the Warriors are going to be downright scary. Not only are they going to have Captain Jack back (who can also easily be moved to the SG position with Monta at the point), they are also going to have Al Harrington available. These two, along with Brandan Wright, Andris Biedrins, and now Randolph, could make for one of the fastest, most athletic, and tallest front lines in all of basketball. That could be a boon for the rebounding-challenged Warriors.
Then again, this could fail miserably as well. Suppose Monta Ellis can't handle the spotlight put on him by Baron's absence (once again, speculation). Suppose Captain Jack hits a cold streak, Al Harrington decides to pull his disappearing act, and Andris Biedrins gets knocked around in the post by larger bigs. And suppose Wright and Randolph don't pan out to be half as good as they are supposed to be. While the outlook certainly has more positives than negatives, the Warriors have to be careful with all of the young talent that they have on this team. Do it right, and this could be the fastest and most athletic team in the NBA. Do it wrong, and this team will be back in the lottery with a Top-10 draft pick. Let's hope they do it right.

As the new season for the NBA doesn't start anytime soon, check out these highlights for Anthony Randolph from college and think of the possibilities:


Wednesday, June 25, 2008

NBA 2008 Mock Draft

Before I begin my NBA 2008 Mock Draft, I just want to give a shout-out to the Turkish National Soccer Team for the fight that they put up against the Germans today in the Euro 2008 Semifinals. But with the NBA Draft coming up tomorrow, it is my duty to provide you with my picks for this years draft (up until Pick #14, where the Warriors make their selection. After the Warriors pick, I don't really care about the rest of the draft). So, here it is:

1. Chicago Bulls- Derrick Rose (PG from Memphis): No one likes Kirk Hinrich...Derrick Rose is the most talented PG to come out of college since Baron Davis...Derrick Rose is a boss...the Bulls select Derrick Rose.

2. Miami Heat- Michael Beasley (PF from Kansas State): There is a good possibility that the Heat will try and trade this pick, but if they can't, they'll have to take Beasley. What a shame.

3. Minnesota Timberwolves- O.J. Mayo (SG from USC): The Timberwolves are in a really tough situation, and are looking for anything to help them out. Mayo will certainly provide the star-power needed. I heard that Gatorade is even thinking of going the Tiger Woods route with Mayo and are going to come out with a new drink, "OJ with Mayo! A creamy orange juice that tastes disgusting but will sell anyways!"

4. Seattle Sonics- Jerryd Bayless (PG from Arizona): The Sonics finally get someone to pass the ball to Kevin Durant. How long are they going to be playing in Seattle? That's anyone's guess.

5. Memphis Grizzlies- Kevin Love (PF from UCLA): The Grizzlies pick up a tenacious Power Forward in Love, a perfect playing partner for a passing center like Pau Gasol. Oops. That sucks.

6. New York Knicks- Eric Gordon (PG from Indiana): This is new coach Donnie Walsh's attempt to forget that he has to coach the Knicks and chill with a fellow Hoosier.

7. Los Angeles Clippers- Russell Westbrook (PG/SG from UCLA): The Clippers pick up their first legitimate PG since Sam Cassell, yet still do nothing to improve their name as "LA's Other Team."

8. Milwaukee Bucks- Joe Alexander (SF from West Virginia): The Bucks don't really need a SF, but Alexander is fluent in Mandarin. This means that the Bucks can stop spending money on a translator for forward Yi Jianlian, freeing up some much-needed cap space. It all works out, doesn't it?

9. Charlotte Bobcats- Brook Lopez (C from Stanford): The Bobcats get a steal here with Brrok Lopez, a big man who can team up with Emeka Okafor to turn the Bobcats into legitimate playoff contenders. I can't believe I just said that.

10. New Jersey Nets- Danilo Gallinari (SF from Italy): The Nets take Gallinari here, in order to try and make their fans forget that they traded Jason Kidd away. In fact, after selecting Gallinari, the Nets plan to make all posters, team flyers, and game broadcasting in Italian, so that fans do not get a clue about the rest of the team's activities.

11. Indiana Pacers- DJ Augustin (PG from Texas): Taking Augustin is a good move for the Pacers, and a bad move for the Pacers. He brings some needed help to the PG position, but also creates the possibility that Jamaal Tinsley will explode, quit the Pacers, and become a strip club bouncer. Actually, that's probably a good thing for the Pacers.

12. Sacramento Kings- Anthony Randolph (SF from LSU): Randolph isn't one of the most polished players in the draft, but he has the skills. The Kings don't really care at this point, and with Brad Miller beginning to rust, they need a frontcourt player as quickly as possible.

13. Portland Trail Blazers- Brandon Rush (SF from Kansas): The Trail Blazers have the skill, but they have a lot of young players. And more importantly, they have a lot of young players who have never won. Rush is coming off of a NCAA Title, and looks to add a winning mentality to the Blazers.

14. Golden State Warriors- Robin Lopez (C from Stanford): Lopez has amazing potential (many experts projecting that he will be a better pro than brother Brook) and the Warriors desperately need a consistent big man. However, the Warriors also plan to use him as a designated free-throw shooter for whenever Andris Biedrins is fouled, which could prove to be the tactic that helps the Warriors reach the playoffs.

Well, there you have it, that's the part of the draft that I care about. Tune in to the actual thing tomorrow at 4 o'clock Pacific Time on ESPN. Let's Go Warriors!










Tuesday, June 24, 2008

So Kobe, Tell Me...

Just came across this video of Shaq trying to rip on Kobe in a freestyle rap at a New York nightclub a couple of days ago. I thought the rap was pretty sick (for Shaq, that is) until he started bagging on Kobe. Write up some comments and let me know whether you think Shaq actually meant what he said and if it was necessary. Here is the video:



Write some comments!

Monday, June 23, 2008

Euro Fans Make American Fans Look Docile

Watching Euro 2008 has been a blast: Turkey's improbable comeback(s), Germany's stunning win over Portugal, Russia's exhilarating, overtime victory over the Netherlands, and most recently Spain slaying a heavily-favored Italian squad in penalty kicks. Witnessing the action has been quite an experience, and I don't even live in any of the countries! 
What is it that makes this tournament so amazing? Why is the action so intense and the atmosphere so electric? The answer to such questions is, without a doubt, lies with the fans. European soccer fans are probably the craziest, most "out there" fans in all of sports. They wear their pride and loyalty on their sleeves (or bare chests) and have no hesitation when it comes to picking fights (or starting brawls) with fans from the opposing teams. What's more, it seems as if the players on the field feed off of the reaction from the fans, raising their game to a whole new level.
European fans are really intense, that's for sure. But are they more intense than us American fans? Are they higher on the fan-dom food chain? The rest of this article is going to compare the degree of fan-ness for both European fans and American fans in 3 categories.

1. Passion- defined as the ardent love for a certain object or commodity that involves enthusiasm to the point of lust (in this case, that object is sports). Can be measured by the number of fights that occur during a sporting event.

European Fans: European fans aren't simply passionate, they're also absolutely nuts (maniacal, if you will). During the game, they are loud, rambunctious, and like Energizer bunnies-they simply do not stop. The only time it is ever quite at a soccer game is when...well...i don't know. And the end of the game doesn't signal they end of their duty as fans either. These guys and girls get so heated after soccer games that there are AT LEAST 6-7 brawls that occur after a soccer game, be it in the stands, outside the stadium, or even on the field. In the United States, such brawls are headline news and bring lots of arrests and long-winded legal battles. In Europe, such fights are known merely as "skirmishes" and the police simply watch as the battles ensue in order to protect themselves from harm. Degree of Fan-ness: 90%

American Fans: As an American Fan, I feel inclined to put some bias in on this side of the table. And quite frankly, we need it to match up to the Europeans. We might not be mercenaries for our respective squads, but we sure know how to root for our favorite teams. Whether it is the members of the Black Hole for the Oakland Raiders, or the Residents of the Dawg Pound for the Cleveland Browns, there are small group of fans who go above and beyond the call of duty in the Land of Opportunity. However, despite this, we simply cannot match up to the consistency and raw fierceness with which our Old World counterparts root for their teams. Degree of Fan-ness: 74%

2. Hype/Build-Up- we all know that being a sports fan is about knowing how to walk the walk, but also knowing how to talk the talk (which mostly occurs before the game has even started). This category measures the amount of bragging, marketing, and other preliminary activities occur before the referee's opening whistle.

European Fans: European fans certainly have a fair share of buildup before their big games. Considering that betting is legal and openly done in most parts of Europe, betting lines and odds play a large part in a European fan's pre-game routine. Also, big soccer matches often become the center of attention for up to 2-3 days before the game actually begins, with all television talk-shows and radio broadcasts focusing on the upcoming game. At the same time, European fans don't have a singular, annual event that generates the most excitement. It is mostly a smattering of semi-large events, which subdues some of the buildup.
Degree of Fan-ness: 79%

American Fans: We deserve to win this category on the premise of the Super Bowl alone. In my mind, it is the largest, most-televised, most-marketed, single-day event on the planet. While some large European cities focus on their more significant sporting events, our ENTIRE COUNTRY is fixed onto the Super Bowl for up to a week before the game even begins. Tickets are also a huge commodity and source of discussion, as entry-level tickets can sell for more than $5,000. That's for the worst seats. The media hype is almost excruciatingly loud leading up to the event, and the game itself is big enough to warrant its own national holiday. It doesn't get bigger than this. Degree of Fan-ness: 95%

3. The Look: anybody can claim to be a fan, so how do you separate the real from the fake? Apparel of course! This category measures the various clothing, body paint, and other such accessories that the fans wear.

European Fans: Once again, European fans really go all out when it comes to presentation. They do not hold back, and Euro 2008 is a prime example. In the Netherlands/Russia game, there was literally an entire quarter of the stadium (which seats about 85,000 people) that was completely orange-the Dutch national color. It was insane. People were wearing orange garments, orange paint, even orange hair gel. The magnitude of the orange section was so great, that it was impossible to concentrate on the game when all you can see on the television is this path of bright orange. European fans are not afraid of taking their shirts off even in temperatures that fall below freezing, and you will not go to a single soccer game where a person is not wearing a jersey or team colors in some way. European fans make sure that they are adequately dressed (or not dressed) for sporting occasions. Degree of Fan-ness: 93%

American Fans: American fans certainly put up a fight in this category, and the spoils of being the richest country in the world really shine through when we dress up for sporting events. Authentic jerseys, vintage jerseys, off-color jerseys, and many other styles of jerseys are purchased at will by diehard fans, who make sure they always have the latest style or fad. Not to mention the ridiculous contraptions that we Americans come up with for tailgating and parties, which really show our appreciation for our favorite teams. And then, we have this thing for painting our dogs. I have not been to a single sporting event where I have not seen a dog painted to match a team's jersey colors. If that's one of our most prominent ways of showing support, we truly do not deserve to win this category. Degree of Fan-ness: 90% 

Well, in the end, Europeans prove themselves to be the superior breed of fan, winning 2 of the 3 categories. I think that it's only fair for them to win, because they are truly crazy when it comes to supporting their favorite club and national teams. We might be civilized in our support, but the Europeans win because of their unruly but loyal support of their teams. Hey, I don't mind coming second to these lunatics anyway. Don't believe me? Watch some Euro 2008 action on ESPN. I think it will change your mind.


Monday, June 16, 2008

"Golf-Geeks" Avenged

I know that feeling of sitting down on a couch for 4 to 5 hours and simply watching golf. Being a golf enthusiast (a self-proclaimed "Golf-Geek") I reveled in the huge drives, the sweet approach shots, and the clutch putts. I loved watching Tiger Woods compete consistently in major championships as he heads towards Jack Nicklaus' record of 18 majors. Simply put, I love watching golf.
But I also know another feeling. I distinctly recall walking into school or some social setting the Monday after a great tournament and saying, "Hey, did you watch the Masters the other day? What a finish right?" only to be met with blank stares and head scratching. Even worse, I am often told by my peers that watching golf is easily the most boring thing they have ever done and it is a waste of time to do such a thing.
Today, the day that the US Open ends, I have been avenged. Today, I have been vindicated. Today, I laugh in the face of those who have mocked golf their entire lives, those who say that golfers who are not athletes, and those who have made my golf-loving childhood a living hell. Ha. Ha. Ha.
Today, Tiger Woods and Rocco Mediate put on the greatest show that has ever been seen in a golf tournament, and possibly one of the greatest shows ever in recent sports history. A smart movie producer would be trying to lock up the rights to this event, because it is an event scripted for the big screen. 
Let's start with the backdrop for the event. We start off with the issue of Tiger Woods' health, which was in pretty poor condition. He had undergone a knee surgery directly after the Master, the last major tournament. He had not played full round of golf before Thursday, the first round of the US Open. He was extremely rusty and pained to start this tournament. Then there's Rocco Mediate. The man was ranked 158th in the world before the tournament. The man is 45 years old. The man had to fight even to make it into a tournament, relying on a long, difficult birdie-putt in a QUALIFYING round in order just to squeak into the US Open. So you have the backdrop for an interesting tournament.
Then there's the tournament itself. The first two rounds were rather unmemorable, with Woods and Mediate in and around the lead, the big story being the slow and painful demise of favorite Phil Mickelson. But as play shifted to the weekend, and as Tiger flipped the kill switch, things started to get interesting.
Saturday was a day to remember at the US Open. With Rocco making a charge into the lead and Tiger dropping a couple of strokes back, things seemed to get hard for Mr. Woods. He was bogeying holes left and right, and his knee looked like it was about buckle. Then, on the back 9 at Torrey Pines, Tiger turned it on. He drained a 70-foot putt for eagle, a chip-in for birdie, and sloping, 35-foot eagle putt on the 18th hole to take a lead going into the final round. Mediate was two-strokes behind.
Sunday was, once again, legendary, as the final round began with a shaky start for Tiger and a confident one for Rocco. As Tiger seemingly became weaker and weaker, his knee injury really bothering him, Rocco Mediate kept on charging up the leaderboard and into the lead. This set the stage for a dramatic final hole, with Tiger one stroke back of Mediate and in need of a birdie to tie. As Mediate looked on from the clubhouse, Tiger put his drive on the 18th hole in the bunker and his second shot into the rough. Needing a 4 on the par 5 to force a playoff, Tiger hit his 3rd shot onto the green with about a 12-foot putt for birdie still left. Most people wouldn't be able to line up such a putt without shaking uncontrollably (I was certainly shaking with anxiety even while sitting at home). But this is Tiger Woods we're talking about. He drained the putt, eliciting a double-fist-pump and another 18 holes for Tiger and Rocco. It took another 19 holes for the contest to come to an end, and Rocco Mediate certainly put up a fight. Although, at the end, the inevitable remained inevitable. Tiger, on virtue of another gutsy playoff round, ended up winning the tournament. And while Rocco Mediate had Tiger up on the ropes at several times during the day, Tiger remained undefeated when holding the lead into the final round at a major championship.
24,000 fans. 156 participants. 91 holes. 71 strokes for par. 5 days of competition. 2 golfers. 1 champion. 1,000,000 memories. What Tiger Woods and Rocco Mediate have done over the past 5 days will be remembered as one of the greatest 1-on-1, mano-a-mano duels of all time. What will I remember it for? Being the first time in history that golf took a priority to the NBA Finals, Euro 2008, and even a 9-to-5 workday. These two golfers have breathed life into golf with every stroke of the club, and have proven to all the naysayers that golf is indeed a sport. So congratulations to Tiger and Rocco, for putting on a show, making fans happy, and avenging hardcore golf fans around the world.

Friday, June 13, 2008

Sports Update

This is going to be a quick post, as I've been busy with my sister's graduation and other things. But basically, this is what you have to know:

1. The Boston Celtics took a 3-1 lead over the Los Angeles Lakers in stunning fashion on Thursday night, coming back from a 24-point deficit to win the game (the largest comeback in NBA Finals history).

2. Golf's U.S. Open began on Thursday and continued today, as Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, and Adam Scott (the #1, #2, and #3 ranked golfers in the world) teed off in the same group. At the end of Friday's round, Stuart Appleby lead the tournament with a score of 3-strokes-under-par, while Tiger (fresh off of knee surgery) remains in the hunt at 2-strokes-under-par. Tournament play will continue into the weekend and the final round will be on Sunday.

3. What to look forward to this weekend: Game 5 of the NBA Finals, the final two rounds of the U.S. Open, and lots of Euro 2008 (soccer)!

Stay tuned for a longer post on Sunday, which will probably include some information on the winner of the U.S. Open and possibly the winners of the NBA Finals and some Euro 2008 action. Until then, watch one of the greatest golf shots of all time:

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

5 Reasons To Love Sasha Vujacic

For those of you who didn't tune into last nights Game 3 of the NBA Finals, let me provide you with a quick recap: Kobe dominated (36 points), Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce didn't come close to dominating (a combined 8-35 from the field), and the Lakers won 87-81. But really, Sasha Vujacic was the savior for the Lakers. Whenever it seemed as if the Celtics were ready to take control of the game, which was a see-saw battle throughout, Vujacic would hit a jumper to bring the Lakers right back into it. At the end of the night, Vujacic had scored 20 points in limited minutes, including a huge 3-pointer late in the 4th quarter to give the Lakers a decisive, 5-point lead. 
In reality, there aren't too many people outside of Los Angeles who like Sasha Vujacic. He is known to be a little feisty and rough out on the court, and some of his celebration antics have made him Public Enemy #1 in opposing teams' gyms. I happen to disagree with those who hate on Vujacic, and I am going to give you 5 reasons to love the Lakers' passionate shooting-guard.


1. His Name: There are some people who have names that really have a ring to them, names that are really appealing to the ear, names like Sylvester Stallone, Maria Sharapova, Marco Belinelli, and Soulja Boy. OK, maybe not Soulja Boy. But still, there are some names that just sound right, and Sasha Vujacic is one of them (his last name is pronounced vu-ya-chich). Just say it out loud a couple of times. It sounds so right; so simple, yet complex at the same time. That's why the commentators who cover basketball games can't get enough of Vujacic. Whenever he enters the game or makes a shot, the announcers get seemingly more and more exicted: "Here comes Vujacic off the bench, he's checking in at the scorers table. Pass to Vujacic, Vujacic for three! And he drills it! Sasha Vujacic with a 3-pointer to give the Lakers a six point lead!" I guarantee you that announcers at Lakers basketball games average at least 2.06 Vujacic references per Lakers possession, regardless of whether he is on the court or not.


2. His Nickname: Every good athlete has a good nickname to follow. But the thing that makes the nickname most effective is that it somehow pertains to the athlete itself. I mean, no one calls Kobe Bryant by his favorite nickname "Black Mamba", because it has absolutely nothing to do with Kobe Bryant himself (just don't tell him I said that). Really good players have quality nicknames, and this can certainly be said of Sasha Vujacic's nickname "The Machine". Why do people call Vujacic "The Machine"? Because he is a machine, a three-point shooting machine. This dude can't even hold on the ball for more than two seconds before launching a deep ball and he camps out at the three point line, surviving off of Kobe's dishes like he's Bear Grylls. Don't believe me, listen to Sasha tell it himself:



Tell 'em Sasha!


3. His Hairdo: Hair can be a source of an intimidation. Citations? Ben Wallace, Spike Lee, and Kimbo Slice. The same is true for Sasha Vujacic, who you now know as "The Machine". Why is his hair so intimidating? He's got that Italian soccer player/mob gangster/almost a mullet/needs a hair-net thing going. He's got a 'do that is similar to what Steve Nash had during his two-year MVP reign. But what was Steve Nash's mistake? He cut his hair. This year, Steve Nash with short hair = no MVP award. Sasha Vujacic with Steve Nash's old hair = Finals MVP award? I think so. And if Sasha were to sport some corn-rows a la Ben Wallace? It would be the ultimate intimidation factor.


4. He Has the Ability to Be a Champion: The mark of a great professional is the ability to keep emotions out of the game completely, or feed off of emotions to the point where they are unstoppable. However, the mark of a true champion is the ability to block out emotions in pressure-packed situations and feed off of emotions when necessary. Sasha Vujacic has the ability to do just that. The majority of the time that Sasha spends on the court is strictly business, as he steps into his role as "The Machine" and shoots the lights out of the gym. However, when the time comes to celebrate, Sasha lets his emotions get the best of him and puts on a show for his fans. Case Study: the Lakers take a 3-1 series lead against the Spurs in the Western Conference Finals, heading into a Game 5 in Los Angeles. In the 4th Quarter of Game 5, with the Lakers winning by 5 points and 10 seconds left on the clock, the Spurs decide not to foul and let the Lakers run the clock out. Kobe Bryant passes the ball up to Vujacic, who is wide open at the 3-point line as the clock ticks down. Vujacic launches a three at the buzzer and it drops, giving the Lakers a 100-92 win and pissing off a whole bunch of people. He made the Spurs angry (for obvious reasons), he made gentlemen across the world angry (making the buzzer-beating three, they claim, is equivalent to punching a beaten man in the groin at the end of a boxing match), and he made betters across the world very, very angry (by swinging the game across the point spread, which was 7.5 points, and losing potential winners over $100 million in bets). However, he made a whole bunch of people in the Staples Center very happy, with free tacos. You see, for every game that the Lakers score 100 or more points and hold the opponent to less than 100 points, all of the fans who attended the game receive free tacos. Thus, this was not simply "The Machine" being "The Machine", this was Sasha's attempt to reach out to his loving fans and provide them with some free tacos. What a classy gesture.

5. Seriously, the Man Loves the Game: In the end, the one thing that you absolutely cannot take away from Sasha Vujacic is that he loves the game. He goes out and plays every minute that he is out on the court as passionately and respectfully as he can, providing his fans and even his foes with a performance to remember each time. He has the appeal of a man who has gone from rags-to-riches in pro basketball, but no one really focuses on that. The only things Sasha cares about are playing with enthusiasm and winning championships, two goals that will propel him to a starting spot in the Lakers lineup and a happy, successful career.

That's all for the Sasha Vujacic lovefest, stay tuned for Game 4 of the NBA Finals tomorrow at 5:00 pm PT and more coverage from me on Friday. Also, stay tuned for some coverage on golf's U.S. Open, which also starts tomorrow. Other than that, I hope everyone is enjoying his/her summer!



Monday, June 9, 2008

Surprise Surprise...the Celtics have a 2-0 Lead in the Finals!

 *This first post is going to be a little more serious than future ones, but I just wanted to start off with something easier!

I want to preface this post by saying that I am in no way a Celtics fan (I pledge allegiance to my hometown Warriors), but I simply cannot believe that some people can't believe that the Celtics have jumped to a 2-0 lead on the Lakers in the NBA Finals. Since that sentence was really way too complicated, what I am actually trying to say is: why are people shocked that the Celtics are winning? I say this because I have read at least 5 articles from Yahoo Sports, ESPN, and other reputable sports websites that say that the Celtics are ruining what was supposed to be the Lakers' (and mostly Kobe's) rise to greatness. These articles express a great deal of surprise to the fact that the Lakers are in an 0-2 hole.
But really, could they not see this coming? We are talking about the BOSTON CELTICS here. This is a team that owned the NBA's best regular season record this year. The team that pulled off the biggest (yeah, I said it) blockbuster trade this year that has created the most intimidating starting lineup in basketball. This is a team that houses the Big Three of Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce, and Ray Allen, and any one of those guys has the ability to burn a team on any given night. And then they have Leon Powe, who is a straight BOSS. If you don't believe me, tune into his Game 2 performance yesterday:



So, basically what I am trying to say is, why the shock? Why the panic? The Celtics are good and that's a fact, so how can people be shocked that they have jumped to a 2-0 lead? Also, if you're a Celtics fan, don't get too comfortable. Keep in mind that this series is far from over, and the Celtics probably gave the Lakers some hope by letting a 24-point lead melt down to a 4-point lead in a 7-minute span. This, along with the inevitable boost that comes with playing on your homecourt, could propel the Lakers on to a couple of victories as the series shifts to LA. 
In the end, I don't really care who wins these Finals. I don't care if it's Kobe getting his 4th ring and Phil Jackson his 10th, or if it's KG, Ray-Ray, Paul, and Doc Rivers getting their first. All I care about is seeing some quality basketball from two really, really quality teams.


P.S. I would just like to thank Norm for the inspiration for this title. You know who you are.